Brown Sugar Glazed Chicken

BrownSugarGlazedChicken

I found this original recipe HERE and although it was not low carb, I knew I could adapt it to be very easily.  I subbed Sukrin Gold for the brown sugar and served it over cauliflower rice and it was delicious!  I’ll definitely be doing this one on a regular basis!

Ingredients

For Chicken:
    • 1 1/2 lbs chicken boneless, skinless
    • 1/2 cup water
    • 1/2 tsp salt
    • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
    • 1 tsp tarragon dried
For Glaze:
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup Sukrin Gold
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

Instructions

  1. Add the chicken to the slow cooker. In a small bowl mix together tarragon, salt, pepper and water. Pour over chicken. Cook on high for 2 1/2 hours.
  2. After 2 1/2 hours, mix all the glaze ingredients except the xanthan gum in a small saucepan. Heat over medium heat and add the xanthan gum a bit at a time, stirring constantly. It should start to thicken as soon as it comes to a boil.
  3. Pour the mixture over the chicken in the slow cooker and toss, so that the chicken is covered in the sauce thoroughly.
  4. Cook for an additional hour in the slow cooker on low.
  5. Remove chicken from slow cooker into a big bowl and carefully pull it apart using two forks.
  6. Serve warm with remaining glaze on the side, if preferred.

Notes

Nutrition as I made it: 169 calories, 3g carbs, 18g fiber, 3g fat, 22g protein

Please note I am not a nutritionist or a doctor. Any nutritional information discussed or disclosed in this recipe should only be seen as my amateur estimates based on the specific brands and products I used as well as the nutrition calculator I used. If nutrition is important to you, I highly encourage you to verify any data you see here with your favorite nutrition calculator and see your doctor.

Leave a comment